to kill or keep/ radera eller spara

Att spara eller slänga det är frågan. Det blir svårt att skiljas från ord och formuleringar som man tycker har en bra klangbotten och nålar fast det man ville, men som ändå tynger texten. Och kanske kan man använda dem någon annan gång, i en annan historia. Så därför har jag oftast minst två varianter samtidigt i min dator, en “finkopia” och en “arbetskopia”. I arbetskopian kan jag pröva olika idéer utan att få kaos i “finvarianten”. Och där spar jag de ord och meningar, som jag inser att jag antagligen måste offra och stryker över dem med blått. Det markerar “kill or keep”, önskeord och önskeformuleringar.
Vi behöver inte riktigt skiljas men ni får stanna i den litterära garderoben.

To kill or keep, that is the question. It becomes difficult to distinguish between words and phrases that seem a good sound base and pinpoint what one wants, but still make the text heavy and loaded with  my darling stuff. Anyway, maybe I can use them, another time, in another story …
Therefore, I usually have at least two variants of my text at the same time in my computer, 
a “fine copy” and a “work copy”. In the work copy I can try out different ideas without bringing chaos into the “fine variant” and I can save what I realize I probably have to sacrifice. I mark them with blue, meaning  “kill or keep”, wishful words and wishful sentences. We do not really have to part, but they have to stay in my literary closet.

 

Leave a Reply

